EACMonsters.com - The Official Site of Eastern Arizona College Athletics


Eastern Arizona College

EAC News


Stafford and Robinson Garner National Attention

Returning sophomores Taylor Stafford (men's basketball) and Shaunice Robinson (women's basketball) each participated in national events during the July recruiting period for Division I four-year schools. Stafford of Minneapolis, Minnesota earned a spot at the "Jerry Mullen's Juco Top 100 Camp" in St. Louis, Missouri due to a breakout freshman year. He led the Gila Monsters to a 20-win season and received plenty of individual accolades including Third Team All-American, Freshman of the Year in the ACCAC, as well as First Team All-Region and First Team All-Conference. Stafford picked up where he left off and impressed on a national level. "I have had numerous Division I coaches contact me (about Stafford) since the event," head men's coach Maurice Leitzke said. "The comments were that they like how well he understands the game and that made him stand out."

Robinson of Seattle, Washington took part in the "NJCAA All-Star Weekend" hosted by Northest Florida State College in Niceville, Florida. Despite only playing in the Lady Gila Monsters' final 18 games, Robinson was named Second Team All-Region and Third Team All-Conference. She was one of 40 players chosen from more than 100 entries by junior college coaches around the country. "All I heard the whole weekend was how this was the most talented group in the event's history," head women's coach Ryan McAdams said. "I couldn't be more proud of Shaunice in how she played unselfishly and represented our program on a national level. She deserved to be there and she competed well."

Stafford and Robinson are not the first Gila Monsters to be invited to their respective events. Below is a list of Gila Monsters under Leitzke's and McAdams' tenures in attendance and the four-year schools they finished with or are currently playing for:

Men's Event

2012: A.J. Adams (Pittsburg State) Spencer Coleman (Montana)

2009: Mario Gill (Alaska-Anchorage) Mike James (Lamar) Dazmond Starke (Kentucky Wesleyan)

Women's Event

2012: Amara Wainwright (University of Texas-Arlington)